UK Haul 

Hey guys. So as a few of you might know, last month I went to England and Scotland to visit my boyfriend. It was my first time in Scotland, and I already want to run away and live there forever. That being said, I made numerous trips to Superdrug, Boots, and a few other places. Since you all know I love a good drugstore purchase, keep on reading for some of my favorite finds from my trip.

This definitely isn’t everything I bought, but it’s my favorites from the makeup and skincare bits.

By some miracle I managed to find the Simply Pure Hydrating serum that Sali Hughes always goes on about. I bought the moisturizer to go with it. It’s actually a surprisingly good group of products. They do what they say on the bottle. The moisturizer was really cheap and doesn’t irritate my skin and the serum is just a good, basic, hydrating serum.

I was a bit obsessed with the Superdrug Vitamin E cleansing balm that I purchased earlier in the year, so I picked up the Facial Oil this time around. The bottle is pretty tiny, but you only need a few drops. I think it’ll definitely come in handy when winter gets here. Chicago winters tend to suck the life out of everything, including my skin.

I got a cool highlighter from Makeup Revolution. They actually stock these in Ulta in the US now. It’s obviously not a highlight on my skin tone, but it makes for a pretty effect over some blush and adds a hint of warmth. I found a new favorite Max Factor foundation. It’s a cream formula, and although the color is a little too dark, I find I can correct it with a lighter powder. The finish is beautiful and it feels really smooth when  you apply it.

I purchased two Sleek palettes from Boots. I’m not a giant fan of the highlighting phase. I like my matte white powder to highlight. However, I swatched the Solstice palette in store to see what all the fuss was about, and knew I had to buy it. I only bought the blush palette that went with it because every Boots within walking distance from Brighton was out of the Solstice palette and they had some insanely good deal on. The blush is really pigmented though. I like that there’s a cream blush in the same palette too. They’re both pretty nifty, and I got them both for twelve pounds or something like that.

As far as the non makeup finds, I bought a few scarves (Obviously. American girl goes to Edinburgh. Comes back with plaid scarves.) A cute safety pin brooch type thing– No idea what to actually call it. And I discovered two perfumes. I purchased one, and bought a sample of the other, insanely expensive one.

Dead Sexy is by Tokyo Milk. The name makes me cringe a bit, but I really like the way it smells. The salesgirl gave me a big speech about how they make their perfumes “without chemicals”. You know. However that’s supposed to work. So if that sort of thing is important to you, check them out. They’re actually cheaper to buy in America–Which I didn’t really realize until afterwards, but I blame the brain fog on jet lag. I’ve blown 10 dollars on stupider stuff, but we’ll save that for another post.

The other perfume is by fancy, super pretentious perfume house Illuminum. My boyfriend took me for afternoon tea at a super fancy tea room in York– No seriously, they had a pianist and everything. Although she basically sat there and played the entire score of Les Miserables, and being an actress I found it a strange, somewhat depressing choice. Anyway, York is home to one of the oldest perfume shops in England, and it happened to be right around the corner. I went in determined to love Floris Night Blooming Jasmine…and ended up really hating it. The salesman asked me what type of scent I liked and when I mentioned gardenia, he showed me White Gardenia Petals. Complete with a story about how Kate Middleton wore it on her wedding day–Which I assumed he thought would sway me to buy it, but for almost $200 a bottle, I don’t really care what she wore. I decided I would hold off on buying  a big bottle and purchased a sample vial instead. The sample vial does smell a little different, I definitely liked it on my wrist in York better. It’s a beautiful scent though. I think the next time I’m in the UK, that’s what I’ll splurge on. Illuminum do a really interesting black tea scent as well, so definitely check them out.

As mentioned in one of my previous posts, I’m working on making some changes to my blog and self hosting it. I have quite a lot of stuff going on at the moment, so it’s coming along a lot more slowly than anticipated, but I will keep you all posted so you don’t miss anything too exciting.

 

Leave a Reply

